So it begins…

When I was four years old my favorite movie was Ghostbusters.  It was the beginning of a lifelong obsession with ghosts, monsters, and all things that go bump in the night.  I needed to watch anything that might have a monster in it, and when my dad would go to the video store every weekend I could be found in the horror section.

Anything monster related was an instant hit, and of course that included Halloween.  Best. Holiday. Ever.  Once on a family vacation to Niagra Falls, I was smitten because there was a street in Canada that had three haunted houses to choose from- in July!  

My brother and I were latchkey kids, so it didn’t take long for me to corrupt him since we spent so much time together while my parents were at work.  In the summers I’d ride my bike to the video store and bring back bags of horror on VHS.  

Currently, I get phone calls all the time from friends who come across a horror movie and want to know if I’d recommend it.  If I don’t, they skip it.  

And lately, I have a couple of projects that got me thinking that maybe I should start a blog.  The first, I’m planning an October long celebration of Halloween (of which more blog posts will follow).  The second, my brother’s b-day is coming up so I decided to get him copies of our childhood favorites.  And by that I mean more underground or B-movie favorites.  Our list would be impossible to manage otherwise.  Even then, this list is hard.  I want to keep it manageable, but it’s tricky!

The b-day list so far:

Terrorvision
Spookies
Puppet Master
Subspecies
Monster Squad (it has monsters, it counts)
House
House II
Dolls
The Blob
Vamp
Ghoulies II (because I like it better than part 1)
Critters

I’m struggling because I’m constantly tweaking this list.  There’s plenty I want to add, but this list could go on forever.  Trying to shrink the list to the highlights of our youth is impossible, horror is who we are.

What about you?  What were your childhood favorites?

8 responses to “So it begins…

  1. That’s a really strong list of early childhood horror movies! Mine consists of only 6, but very influential to me.
    1.) The proverbial Ghostbusters(even the second one)
    2.) The Monster Squad
    3.) Silver Bullet
    4.) Childs Play
    5.) Nightmare on Elm Street
    6.) House

    Like

      • Probably, yes. Once they went past the third(possibly even the second) Child’s play, it just became ridiculous and forgettable. I didn’t see a lot of B horror movies growing up(for the most part). I see a lot of them now, but not so much as a child. Although, i watched a lot of Tales from the crypt. Would that constitute as a B horror series?

        Like

  2. The movies that fostered my love of horror movies is all over the place. I fondly recall seeing Monster Squad in the theaters and it is a favorite of mine today. Every Saturday night, there was a local horror host by the name of Madd Frank that would present lots of classic (and classicly bad) movies. One that I remember the most if the original Blob. Lastly, but certainly not least, was the rampant popularity of the slasher genre. Friday the 13th and Sleepaway Camp stick out in my head as popular choices at the local video store.

    Like

Leave a Reply

